WATER FROM HEAVEN


Last night we got a fair bit of water from heaven, I am allways pleased with it, it is so much better than water from the tap, and cheaper too !

Yesterday I planted a  honeysuckle, Lonicera periclymenum against the garagewall, it will get soft yellow flowers who turn darker as they age, and in Autumn it should get red berry’s.

I counted the herbs I have in my garden and I had more than I thought, I like to use them for all sorts of things, in the kitchen ofcourse but I also use them to make tea and potpourri.The herbs I use for tea are : Moroccan mint and lemon balm, you can use lemon balm instead of lemon but you can make tea with lemon balm alone too, when you dry it you can use it as potpourri or mix it with other dried herbs or flowers. You can also use lemon balm with fish, gives it a lovely fresh taste . If you have a small garden you can put your lemon balm in a pot as it is a bit rampant and it selfsows but it can be easily removed. It has a lovely fresh green colour and it get’s soft pink flowers.

In my mixed salads I like to use chives, chinese chives (is a bit stronger then the usual chives) red and green basilicum, challots and last but not least the pipes of chalots and onions.

I also have ramson, it grows very early in Spring, then it blooms with lovely white flowers for a long time, the flowers you can eat as well but I can’t bring myself to eat flowers, so I don’t. As of June the ramson dies down and dissappears untill next Spring. It’s very easy to grow, it likes a bit of shade and moisture though.

Then there is lavas, so lovely in soup !!!! If you let it grow it becomes 2 meters ! tall and it gives a huge flowerstalkwith yellow flowers, but if your garden is small you can cut it when it is too big or you grow it in a pot, it really makes your soup very tasty !!! I use a piece of 20 cm long for 2 lt of soup, you can use more or less, it depends on what you prefer but f you use too much you get a soapy taste.

Apart from all the above I have sage, thyme and rosemary to make mediterrenian dishes.

ON THIS PICTURE YOU SEE MY LEMONBALM AND THERE’S A LITTLE DARK BLUE BEATLE SITTING ON ONE OF THE LEAFS? IT HAS A METALLIC SHINE AND IS ABOUT 10-15 MM LONG, DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT THIS IS , AND SHOULD I BE WORRIED ? I HAVE NEVER SEEN IT BEFORE

HERE YOU SEE THE FLOWERS OF THE ORDINARY CHIVES, THE CHINESE CHIVES HAS WHITE FLOWERS, I THINK THEY ARE VERY PRETTY

HAVE A GREAT DAY AND A LOVELY WEEKEND !!!

Leave a Reply

