FINALLY !!!


Finally it stopped raning after more then 48 hours !!! Everything is WET !!! Yesterday the highest daytemperature was 9 C° !!at the end of Spring ! Todays highest temperatures will be 16 C°but showers are always a possibility.

Today I’ll tell you about my greenhouse. We bought it about 2 years ago so I am still experimenting. It is unheated so I can’t put my tropical plants there or my cacti in Winter, but I do put my winterhardy succulents in it to keep them dry. I use it to grow vegetables and fruits. I have tomato’s, they are about 60 cm high at the moment and they have no flowers yet but I grow them from seeds, they don’t look tasty as they have a brown colour with a bit of red, I  had this variety before and they taste lovely.I also grow a few tomato plants outside in a big pot but if we get a cool and rainy Summer they will rot before they ripe, but I want to give it a try anyway. Last year I planted a grape in the greenhouse, one with blue grapes,called vitis “muscat bleu”, it is still a baby but it is doing well.Each year I grow pinapple cherry’s (physalis peruviana), a lovely fruit and full of vitamins, it is very easy to sow and to grow, I sow them myself in early Spring and I put them on a windowsill inside, as soon as the frosts are gone by mid May, I plant them in he greenhouse and outside in the sun.

My veggie’s in the greenhouse are just common ones, red onions, challots, sweet corn, a few cabbages, lettuce, sellery’s, leeks, not much cos the tomato’s and the pinapple cherry’s take most of the space.

ONE OF THE ROSES IN MY GARDEN, ROSA YELLOW GRAHAM THOMAS, IT HAS A LOVELY SCENT !SMELL’S MORE LIKE FREESIA’S ACTUALLY

A VIEW Of THE POND, THERE ARE MANY PLANTS IN THE POND, TOO MUCH REALLY, I HAVE TO ASK MY HUSBAND TO REMOVE MOST OF IT, IT GROWS LIKE MAD ! THAT’S BECAUSE WE HAVE KOI CARPS IN THE POND AS WELL

ROSA GUIRLANDE D’AMOUR MAKES MY WHOLE GARDEN SMELL OF ROSES, LOVELY !!!

ANOTHER VIEW OF  ROSA GUIRLANDE D’AMOUR

THIS IS CLEMATIS VITICELLA ETOILE VIOLETTE, AN EASY CLEMATIS WHO BLOOMS A LONG TIME

MY YUCCA IN THE SUN, IN WINTER I  HAVE TO BRING HIM INSIDE BUT HE CAN HAVE A BIT OF FROST

Have to go now, work is calling.

HAVE A GREAT DAY AND ENJOY YOUR GARDEN ! thanks for stopping by

7 thoughts on “FINALLY !!!

  1. Your garden is stunningly beautiful, no doubt, because you get so much rain. Here in the High Desert of New Mexico, rain is very scarce, and when our roses open up, the drying winds are known to dehydrate them on the plant – sometimes within hours – creating a perfectly preserved rose. Thanks for sharing your gardening adventures.

    • I was surprised to see you had frost in Winter. I’d love to live in a country that is frostfree then I could make a cacti and succulent garden.I am grateful we have enough water for everything we want to do but it is getting on your nerves when it rains and nothing grows and everyone over here is desperate for a bit of sun.
      I whish I could sent you some of our rain !
      Enjoy your garden !

      • We don’t just get a little frost, but extreme cold. A couple of years ago, we experienced record low temperatures around -36F, and lost nearly half our plants in the garden. In the summer, shade cloths over the tender vegetables are essential.

      • I haven’t got a clue how cold -37 F is but we had -18 C° this Winter and that was COLD !!!I lost quite a few plants I hate it when the temperatures drop below zero !!!!
        We all have to live with what we have and make the best of it I suppose.

      • No, sadly to say, they were on their own. They all grow wild here. The prickly pear cacti did not produce any fruit the following year, however. They seem to be making up for it this year, though.

Leave a Reply

