SOME GARDEN TALK


Today it is 15 C° and the sky is grey with dark grey clouds. For me this is ideal weather to do something in the garden.

I went to my greenhouse and took some pictures.

HERE YOU SEE TWO POTS WITH DARK LEAFED BASIL, ONE POT HAS A LITTLE OF THE GREEN BASIL IN IT, YOU SEE ONION PIPES, LETTUCE, THE BIGGEST PLANT IS AN EGG PLANT, IT HAS FLOWERS BUT NO FRUITS YET

HERE YOU SEE LETTUCE, ONON PIPES, LEEKS, AND SELLERY, THE SELLERY IS FOR CUTTING, YOU CUT WHAT YOU NEED AND IT GROWS BACK, AGAIN AND AGAIN

CABBAGE AND FENNEL, AND UNDER THE BIG CABBAGE LEAF YOU SEE A TAGETES BUT IT IS NOT IN BLOOM YET

THIS IS ONE OF MY TOMATO PLANTS AND IF YOU LOOK CLOSELY YOU CAN SEE THE FIRST FLOWER BUDS !!

I know most of you already have ripe tomato’s or at least some big green ones but what with the cold and rainy weather we’ve been having for month’s now (with a few warm days inbetween) nothing is growing very well except for the weeds. Do you see that dark ring I planted my tomato in ? It’s a water reservoir, you can put 3 liters of water in it and it drips slowly into the ground, it’s the first time I am using this. As for the tagetes I mentioned earlier, I plant tagetes between my veggies and garlic to keep the bugs away, tagetes are so easy to grow from seed ! Over here we call tagetes  “stinky’s” cos of their smell. I like the ones with the little yellow flowers as they look so sunny to me.

HERE WE ARE BACK IN THE GARDEN, THIS IS AN EVERGREEN FERN : POLYSTICHUM POLYBLEPHARUM

ONE OF MY PLANTERS WITH “WILD” STRAWBERRY’S : FRAGARIA VESCA ( I BOUGHT THEM IN A PLANTCENTER I DID NOT GET THEM FROM THE WILD), THEY ARE VERY EASY TO PROPAGATE, THE FRUITS ARE VERY SMALL BUT TASTE LOVELY ALAS THE BIRDS NOW THAT TOO SO I HAVE TO KEEP A CLOSE EYE ON THE BERRY’S, THE PLANTS START FLOWERING EARLY IN SPRING AND THEY GO ON FLOWERING AND PRODUCING FRUIT TILL THE FIRST FROST, ALL THEY NEED IS A PLACE IN THE SHADE/SEMI-SHADE AND ENOUGH WATER

MY ANGELWING BEGONIA , IT IS NOT IN BLOOM YET BUT UNDER THE LEAFS I CAN SEE SOME BUDS, IT’ S ONE WITH WHITE BELL SHAPED FLOWERS,  AM LOOKING FORWARD TO THE FIRST FLOWERS !

A FUCHSIA TOGETHER WITH A SMALL SEDUM : SEDUM SPURIUM IN A POT, THIS SEDUM IS SUCH A LOVELY PLANT, I OFTEN USE IT TO COVER THE SOIL IN A POT, IT IS A TRAILING SEDUM AND YOU CAN CUT IT SHORT OR LEAVE IT  HANGING OVER THE EDGE OF THE POT, IT’S ALWAYS HAPPY, IT IS EVERYWHERE IN MY GARDEN, YOU CAN PUT IT EVERYWHERE : SUN,SHADE, DRY, WET, WHATEVER.

ONE OF MY SEMPERVIVUMS WITH PROMISING BUDS, I JUST REPLANTED IT, THE LITTLE GREEN STUMPS YOU SEE IS OF ANOTHER SEDUM : SEDUM ACRE AND IT GETS BRIGHT YELLOW LITTLE FLOWERS, SO PRETTY ! AND SO SUNNY !

MAY I INTRODUCE YOU TO ONE OF MY BEST GARDEN HELPERS, IDEAL FOR REMOVING WEEDS, ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU DON’T HAVE A LOT OF MUSCLE, I WOULD NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITHOUT IT

And now I want to go and do something in the garden, I have the whole day to myself and I love it but first I’m going to have a cup of tea in the garden so I can see what needs my attention the most.

Thank you all for reading my blog, have a great day and enjoy your garden

Leave a Reply

