GARDEN TALK


I had a few busy days with work, lots of clients to care for and I had to look after my granddaughter who was a bit ill and couldn’t go to school but today is wednesday and I have a free day all to my self and guess what I am going to do today ? Yes ! You all guessed right !

The weather was reasonable the last few days, apart from a few heavy showers. What with the temperatures arround 20 C° it looks as everything is finally growing a bit, the flowers don’t look very happy cos of the rain but the plants are thriving ofcourse. It is only June 20 th today and already it is the wettest June in 30 years !

My plants in the greenhouse are doing well, I have 1 paprika plant and it has about 7 fruits and loads of flowers and buds, it’s the first time I am trying to grow paprika’s, last year I tried hot peppers and I got masses and masses of peppers from 1 plant, they kept flowering and producing till the first frosts. But then my husband got a lot of dried and chopped peppers, he is a buyer and buys (amongst other things ofcourse) a lot of different spices so from time to time he gets spices to take home, this time it were peppers so now I have peppers for a few years I think.

Yesterday I was going through a plant magasine and I read that when you cut off the first flowers of your tomato plants your plants will get bigger, the tomato’s will get bigger and you’ll get more tomato’s, have any of you guys heard or tried this before ? I finally have flowers on my tomato plants and I think it would hurt to cut them off !!!

Here are some pictures I took yesterday.

MY CLEMATIS ETOILE VIOLETTE STARTED FLOWERING AND WILL GO ON TILL THE FIRST FROSTS. IT’S A VITICELLA SO THE FLOWERS ARE SMALLER BUT THE PLANTS ARE STRONGER AND DON’T GET ILLNESSES EASY

THIS IS CLEMATIS DURANDII, IT’S A YOUNG PLANT, I PLANTED IT LAST YEAR AND A WHILE AGO I PLANTED A HONEYSUCKLE AGAINST THE SAME WALL (LONICERA PERICLYMENUM)

A WEEK AGO I TOOK THIS PICTURE AND YESTERDAY IT LOOKED LIKE THIS

SO YOU SEE HOW SLOW EVERYTHING GROWS OVER HERE

THIS IS ONE OF MY WHITE FOXGLOVES IN FRONT OF THE DARK LEAFS OF MY LILAC (SYRINGA VULGARIS BEAUTY OF MOSCOW), WHITE FOXGLOVES ARE MY FAVORITES. AS FOR THE LILAC, IT HAS SOFT PINK BUDS AND THEN THEY OPEN AND YOU HAVE A PURE WHITE LILAC WITH A LOVEY SMELL, EACH YEAR I CUT EVERY FLOWER OFF TO PUT IN MY LIVINGROOM SO WHEN YOU COME IN MY LIVINGROOM YOU GET THE SMELL OF HEAVEN !

Now it’s time to do some work. Have a great day and enjoy your garden as much as you can !!

5 thoughts on “GARDEN TALK

  1. Sounds like you had tons of peppers. My family really likes them and I add them to a lot of my dishes. I have no idea what a paprika plant looks like. It would be interesting to see.

    • I intend to post a picture of my paprika plant one of these days to show how many paprika’s are ripening and the amount of buds there are on a rather small plant.
      Here in Belgium we are not used to “hot” food but when we prepare dishes from abroad we use hot spices, these days everyone goes on holiday to faraway countries and learn to appreciate other food then what we are used to.

  2. I ditto Donna’s tips… I also stake the plants and tie the single leader to the stake as they grow up the stake. This also makes it easy to harvest those tasty big tomatoes.

  3. To get stronger tomato plants, I bury the plant deeper when planted.The tomato grows more and stronger roots. When growing, I prune and pinch constantly. I remove all the sucker growth first, as the remaining plant benefits greatly. Pruning maximizes the efficiency of photosynthesis and minimizes the risk of disease. Properly pruned, the sugar that is produced is directed to the developing fruit. The result is large fruit that is steadily produced until frost. I keep one growing tip for this reason. Many branches slows fruit production as the plant is still making sugar for the leaves. More stems means more fruit, but they will be smaller in size. I remove flowers for this reason too.

Leave a Reply

