MINI SUMMER


This week we are having a mini Summer of 5 days and because I am still revalidating after my op I enjoy every minute of it. I could get used to not having a job and be a full time housewife /gardener.

As we have temperatures of about 30 C° during the day I start early with watering the garden and the greenhouse and do some little jobs that need to be doing. There are big jobs to be done too but I can’t start on them as I may not lift, push or pull untill the end of August.

I took some pictures for you this morning.

A SEDUM, WE DON’T HAVE MUCH CHOICE IN WINTERHARDY SUCCULENTS, I PUT MY POTS WITH SUCCULENTS IN THE GREENHOUSE DURING WINTER, NOT FOR THE COLD BUT TO PROTECT THEM FROM TOO MUCH RAIN

A LACE CAP HYDRANGEA

THE LAST OF MY DAY LILLIES IN BLOOM

THIS PINK CLIMBING ROSE IS CLIMBING AGAINST THE AVIARY, IT IS COMBINED WITH RUSSIAN VINE, THE RUSSIAN VINE IS FOR THE BIRDS, MY HUSBAND GIVES THE LEAFS TO HIS BIRDS SO THEY’LL GET DARKER PAWS

FLOWERS OF THE RUSSIAN VINE (FALLOPIA), IT’S A VERY INVASIVE CLIMBER ! YOU HAVE TO CUT IT DOWN EACH YEAR OR IT WILL SWALLOW YOUR GARDEN !

AS YOU CAN SEE ON THE LEFT WE STILL HAVE SOME PLANTING TO DO. THIS IS MY AEONIUM, IN SPRING IT HAD ONLY 4 ROSETTES, I AM AMAZED TO SEE HOW WELL IT IS DOING DESPITE ALL THE RAIN. I KEPT IT IN MY LIVINGROOM DURING WINTER AS IT NEEDS QUITE A BIT OF WATER FOR A SUCCULENT.

Goodbye for now, have a great day and enjoy your garden !

10 thoughts on “MINI SUMMER

    • You are spoiled for choice over there in SA ! I had a dark aeonium once but it died cos of too wet and too cold conditions, now I keep an eye on them and bring them indoors if the weather is too wet or too cold. I’d love to have a new Schwartzkop and other aeoniums, I’m always looking for new succulents and cacti in the gardencenters and when we are on holliday.

    • Thanks for your comment ! The daylilly is called “Prairy blue eyes” and it is supposed to be lilac coloured, I guess someone tampered with the labels or put it back in the wrong place, it happens regularly in gardencenters, people take a plant and after a while they put it back but in the wrong place, it annoys me really as I often end up with a plant colour that I don’t want. So I try to buy plants in bloom to make sure to get the colour I want.
      As for our mimiSummer, it ended with thunder and lightning and rain yesterday afternoon but in a few days time we’ll get another mini-Summer so it seems.
      have a great weekend !

  1. I love your face pot with the blue eyes! I am just beginning to develop an interest in sedums. I also just discovered aeoniums today on another blog. They are so interesting and remind me of sedums.

Leave a Reply

