ABOUT CROATIA AND ITS FLORA AND FAUNA, IT’S FOOD AND ART (3)


THE FRESH FRUIT IN CROATIA WAS DELICIOUS AND THERE WAS PLENTY OF IT, THIS SMALL PRUNE WAS SO SWEET ! PROBABLY BECAUSE THE FRUIT OVER THERE GETS PLENTY OF SUNSHINE; MOST OF THE FRUIT HERE IN BELGIUM IS IMPORTED FROM ABROAD AND PLUCKED WHEN IT IS NOT RIPE, WE OFTEN HAVE TO KEEP IT FOR A FEW DAYS AFTER BUYING IT, COS WHEN WE BUY IT IT IS STIL NOT RIPE ENOUGH TO EAT IT, SO IT NEVER TASTES AS GOOD AS THE FRUIT THEY PLUCK WHEN IT IS READY TO EAT OFCOURSE !

LIKE IN FRANCE THEY HAVE A LOT OF PLATANS, I LOVE THE LOOK OF THAT TRUNK, LOOKS A BIT LIKE A PUZZLE

As I told you before, I always want to go to one or more garden centers whilst on holiday abroad, here are some pictures I took during our visit to a large local garden center. Mind you, it was a bit of a shock to see the prizes, they were huge ! compared to what we pay in Belgium.

FOR THE PRICE OF THIS CONIFER YOU COULD BUY A SMALL CAR !!!!

There was nothing there that I couldn’t buy here in Belgium and for a lot cheaper but I enjoyed my visit to the garden center a lot never -the -less

To be continued…

Have a great day all and enjoy your garden ! Thanks for stopping by !Greetings from a rainy, windy Belgium .

6 thoughts on “ABOUT CROATIA AND ITS FLORA AND FAUNA, IT’S FOOD AND ART (3)

  1. What a great country to be able to visit! So interesting. Those plums look like the ones they make prunes out of. I’ve only recently seen them sold at the grocery stores here. It’s too bad everything was so expensive. It’s always fun shopping at gardening centers!

    • Oh yes !! gardencenters are fun everywhere on earth, unfortunately not every country allows you to buy and take plants or seeds hoe with you. So far I have noticed Belgium is one of the cheapest countries for plants (apart from Holland) but for the rest it is really expensive !

  2. Clicking “Like” just wasn’t enough. What beautiful photos — the pottery, the colors, the culture. Thanks so much for sharing your vacation. Croatia is now part of my bucket list. 🙂

    • Croatia will be very pleased with your visit ! It is becomming quite a popular holiday country. They suffered a lot from the war in ex-Yougoslavia but now the tourists are comming back.

  3. I was going to say, You had me at blueberries, but they are prunes? They look lovely. Enjoyed the images. The tree is really gorgeous and the cacti too–I have always loved cactus plants.

    • I was only a few years old when I became interested in cacti and succulents, my nan had a few of them and lots of other flowers in her tiny garden and inside so I guess I got my green tumb from her. But my love for cacti and succulent only became bigger over the years.

Leave a Reply

