MY BABY’S


As there is not much going on in the garden at the moment I will write more about my indoor plants starting with my baby’s. All grown from seed except for one  that was a tiny cutting.

THIS IS AN OVERVIEW OF MY BABY CACTI AND SUCCULENTS, ALL GROWN FROM SEED EXCEPT THE GREY SUCCULENT ON THE RIGHT, THAT WAS A TINY CUTTING

I STILL DON’T KNOW IF THESE ARE AGAVE’S OR ALOE’S, I FOUND SEEDPODS ON THE GROUND IN “MY” CACTUSGARDEN (SEE MY BLOG “MY CACTUS GARDEN” THAT I WROTE EARLIER THIS YEAR) AND THIS IS WHAT CAME UP

ANOTHER VIEW OF THE AGAVE ,  THINK THEY MAY BE AGAVE’S AS THE BIGGER ONE’S START TO GET THORNS

A FEW OF MY PRICKLY BABIES

THE TINY CACTUS ON THE LEFT IS AN OPUNTIA, I BROUGHT THE SEED WITH ME FROM OUR TRIP TO TUNISIA, I  KNOW IT IS ILLEGAL TO DO THAT BUT THERE WERE SO MANY SEEDS ON THE GROUND IN OUR HOTEL GARDEN, TOURIST TREADDING ON THEM SO I THOUGHT I’D SAVE SOME FROM DEATH, I HAD A FEW SEEDS BUT ONLY ONE SURVIVED COS THE REST OF THE SEEDS WERE “CLEANED” AWAY BY MY CLEANER WHO THOUGHT IT WAS DIRT SO THIS ONE BABY IS VERY SPECIAL TO ME AND I HOPE THAT ONE DAY IT WILL BE BIG AND BOLD !

Have a great day all and thanks for stopping by and for those who still have nice warm weather : enjoy your garden !!!!

 

11 thoughts on “MY BABY’S

    • They really are intriging plants, I love them and over the years I have experienced that it is not the biggest thorns that are the most dangerous ! And you don’t handle them with your bare hands ofcourse, there’s all sorts of tricks we use to repot them.
      All in all they are very easy plants.

  1. I once rescued 3 tiny aloes that fell off a garden service truck. They grew. They grew thorns, and speared me once too often. They have found a new home, outside my garden.

    About the comments on my older posts? I am in the process of methodically closing comments on older blog posts. Mostly they attract spam. I’ve done 2009 and 2010, working thru 2011. Forgive me? Once there are 2 new posts up, the older ones very rarely draw comments. (But you are very welcome to leave that comment on my current post)

    • for cacti and succulents you don’t need a green thumb you know ! just don’t give them too much water, you have some who can’t survive frost and others who are very winterhardy, you can go on vacation for a month or even longer without watering them, even in Summer !

  2. How fantastic… I love your babies. This may sound completely naïve, but I didn’t realize that succulents gave off seeds. I have a lot of succulents around my house and I’ve never seen any seeds or pods. What do I need to look for? My agaves and aloes make new babies on their own, which I find underneath them.

    • Thanks for your comment ! It’s the flowers that turn into seedpods, if you have no flowers you get no seedpods ofcourse.
      If you buy the fruit of opuntia’s (you can buy them in the supermarket) they are full of seeds and it is fun to see them rise from the soil and then grow up to be cacti or succulents !

Leave a Reply

