LOOK WHAT I FOUND !!!!!


Do you remember my white begonia ?

THIS ONE !

Well, it is not winterhardy in Belgium so I removed the bulb from the pot and what did I see ?

A WHOLE LOT OF THESE GUYS !!!

Does anyone know what these are ? They are about 1 cm long, some a bit bigger others a bit smaller, there were at least 20 or more in the pot ! And look what they did !

THIS IS THE CLEANED BULB, I CLEANED IT UNDER THE TAP SO MOST “MAGGOT’S ?”WERE GONE, THEN I INSPECTED THE BULB AND SAW THAT THERE WERE MORE AND I REMOVED THEM AND THEN I SAW WHAT THEY DID TO THE BULB, LOOK !!!

THEY HAVE EATEN PARTS OF THE BULB !!! I HOPE THE BULB WILL SURVIVE SO I CAN PLANT IT AGAIN IN SPRING, I AM GOING TO LET IT DRY A BIT AND WRAP IT IN A BIT OF NEWSPAPER AND PUT IT IN AN OLD FREEZER TO KEEP IT  FROST FREE AND COOL, TOGETHER WITH SOME FUCHSIA’S AND SOME DAHLIA BULBS

When you are gardening you always get surprises, sometimes good sometimes bad, this was a bad one, the plant looked awful  but I thought it was cos of the  night frosts we recently had.

I’ll tell you in Spring if the bulb survived the Winter or not, I loved this begonia, it has been blooming for a long time and it became more and more beautiful when it became bigger, now this bulb is about 4 times bigger than it was in Spring when I planted it.

Take care and enjoy your garden when you can !!! And thanks for stopping by.

 

UPDATE :

ONE OF MY CLIENTS HAS A GARDEN CENTER AND I SHOWED HIM THE MAGGOTS, HE SAID IT’S VINE WEEVEL, SO NOW I HAVE TO INSPECT ALL MY POTS !!! AND I HAVE MANY !!!

15 thoughts on “LOOK WHAT I FOUND !!!!!

  1. What a lovely and adorable tuberous begonia you have here!

    Those grubs can live for a long time. The sign to look for is a slight disturbance of the topsoil, especially when the pot is shallow.

  2. As I expect you have found out these are vine weevil grubs. The female adults (there are no males!!!!) make notches in the leaves but its the larvae that cause the damage. Begonias are a favourite – ditto all members of the primrose family and crassula family succulents. Nematodes do work as does the insecticide called Provado. This is readily available in the UK and should available to you too. I use it as a last resort but it is the only treatment which gives full control. Incidentally they prefer peat based compost to loam based so using the latter may help.

  3. wow i hope everything is ok with it. You can’t help but love it, so beautiful, I really hope next spring we all have it back. blessings!!

  4. Nasty – look like white grubs. They feed on roots – disgusting. We tend to have them here, often just under the grass a couple inches or less. They can be june beetles…many different kinds of beetles, yet the white grub types look almost the same! YUK! beneficial nematodes work great on them if you drench your pots. Sounds like they are around so may as well do all your garden areas and the grass too!

Leave a Reply

