BEGONIA IN BLOOM


I don’t have a lot of blooms at the moment, it is still very much Winter over here and the forecast for the next 2 weeks is not very good, still frosts at night and around 0 C° during the day with some snow or rain, so I am very happy to look at your blogs, some of you have Spring already ! Makes me green with envy but happy at the same time. Of course there are small signs that Spring is comming, I have little green stumps where I planted crocusses, narcissus, muscari, chionodoxa, tulips… and some tree’s and shrubs are getting bigger buds but as the temperatures stay low it is all moving too slowly in the right direction.

The only thing that is blooming (inside my house ofcourse !) is my beautiful begonia  Muddy Waters who has almost black leafs, when the sun is shining through the leafs they are very dark red. The blooms are pink with little dark red freckles, they are small but there are many of them in a cluster. Also the form of the leafs is beautiful, I like looking at it even when it is not in bloom. It’s an easy plant, I have it for many years, it is also easy to propagate by cuttings, I like giving plants away to family, friends and clients, it is my way of making this world a bit greener.

Here are some pictures of my begonia Muddy Waters.

12022013 005

12022013 006

14022013ijsregen 001

14022013ijsregen 002

Have a great weekend all and thanks for stopping by !

20 thoughts on “BEGONIA IN BLOOM

  1. I, too, am very fond of begonias and you sure do have a beauty in your “Muddy Waters.” We, too are still experiencing winter with dark, gloomy days and cold temperatures. I have a sunroom where I keep my plants during the winter. They don’t do much growing since I keep it on the cool side, but I know with the lengthening of the days, some of them will soon be sending out more green leaves and shoots. I have several begonias and will take some photos of them for you to see. I love the variety and would like to get more for my collection. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  2. Beautiful! I have always wanted a Begonia; maybe it’s time to get one. Right now my hibiscus has 3 buds and my Christmas cactus just finished blooming. It sure brightens the month of February doesn’t it?
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks Bernie ! I’ve been following your blogs for many months now and they are a treat for sore eyes ! You really live in paradise ! Unfortunately I can’t comment on your blogs directly. I watch them via Blotanical and google don’t let me trough to comment, I don’t know why.
      Blotanical keeps telling me that your blog is dangerous(yours and a few others I have listed as favorites) greetings from a grey, misty and cold Belgium !

  3. Beautiful blooms and foliage. Muddy Waters needs a new name, something like Chocolate Cherries (I’m still in Valentine’s Day mode!).

Leave a Reply

