CAN YOU GIVE ME A NAME ?


I have this plant for many years now but I don’t know what it is, it is a succulent but I have no id, I have been looking on the internet for a long time but I never found one that looks the same.

21022013jute en plant 026

HERE HE IS, IT IS A BIG BOY, THE BIGGEST LEAFS ARE ABOUT 30 CENTIMETERS LONG (ABOUT 1 FOOT)

21022013jute en plant 027

HERE IS ANOTHER VIEW, THE LEAFS ARE SOFT AND SMOOTH AND THE PLANT GROWS VERY SLOWLY

21022013bis 003

IT RECENTLY HAD A VERY LONG FLOWERSTALK WITH PINK AND GREEN FLOWERS

I would be very happy if someone could give me a name for it !

 

Have a great weekend and thanks for stopping by !

 

5 thoughts on “CAN YOU GIVE ME A NAME ?

  1. There is no doubt that this is a Gasteria. What is strange, is that Gasterias this size normally make a rosette (with a few exceptions). Maybe the fact that this is not the case here, is caused by cultivation, Or the plant is not old enough yet, in spite of its size. All in all I think it is most likely G. excelsa, which makes leaves up to 40 cm long. If you are interested I can send you a picture of a big plant in my garden.

  2. I grew a Gasteria from seed which is identical but, typically, lost the label. This species does grow large though. The problem I find with Gasteria is that most of the species look similar (to me anyway) and I think they also cross breed easily so you never know if you have a proper species anyway. If I can find the label I will get back to you!

Leave a Reply

