SPRING IS IN THE AIR


At last we have temperatures above  0 C°, even at night ! It is still cold and very wet but it is a dry day so I started working in the garden, I don’t know where to begin as the garden is a real mess at the moment.

The builders made us a new terrace in the garden and new garden path’s but what a mess !!!

I don’t clean up my garden in Autumn either cos it is better for the plants and the birds and other small wildlife that is living in my garden, like frogs and hedgehogs, insects…. But now I am ready to start !!!!

17032013tuin 001

HERE’S A PICTURE OF MY LITTLE VIOLETS WHO DESPITE THE HORRIBLE WINTER WE’VE HAD ARE BLOOMING AGAIN, IN MY EYES IT’S A MIRACLE !

17032013tuin 002

NARCISSUS TETE A TETE, I CHEATED A BIT, I BOUGHT THESE IN THE SHOP WHERE THEY WERE ALREADY IN BLOOM

17032013tuin 005

THIS IS HOW FAR MY NARCISSUS ARE, IN BUD

17032013tuin 008

MY SNOWDROPS ARE THE ONLY FLOWERS IN BLOOM AT THE MOMENT, WHEN I WAS WORKING IN THE GARDEN TODAY I SAW THEY HAVE SEEDED THEMSELVES HERE AND THERE, I LIKE THAT !

I also started to put my succulents in pots outside again, they spent Winter in my greenhouse and they look really well, last year they were almost death cos of all the cold and wet we had, they can stand the cold but not the wet.

17032013tuin 003

17032013tuin 006

17032013tuin 007

I hope you all had a great weekend !

18 thoughts on “SPRING IS IN THE AIR

    • It is just one of the many sempervivums, I find it very anoying that the producers of plants seldom write the whole name of the plant, they write : succulent or sempervivum, or nothing at all, I ‘d love to see a large label on each pot to let us know the full name of the plant, the sort of soil it likes, sun or shade etc….

  1. I would like to thank you for visiting and “liking” things on my blog. I was scrolling through your photos and was inspired by the photo of the narcissi to do an iPad painting. May I show it on facebook and my blog? I will give attribution to your photo as the source of my inspiration.

  2. These are really nice photos! I love houseleeks too.

    We have had torrential rain for most of the day; only nine miles away, although admittedly a little bit higher above sea level, they have had four inches of snow!

    • We had 2 dry days in a row !! But the soil is very wet. I enjoyed working in the garden.
      Hope your Spring will come soon. It seems like every one is fed up with the weather.

  3. I thought I was looking at my garden with your snowdrop photo–they are in the same surroundings, moss, ferns… 🙂 They have bloomed for an unusually long time this year.

  4. It is no different further north, my daffs are at the same stage and the snowdrops and some crocuses are the only things poking their colourful heads out. Good that you are managing to get out into the garden, I for my part can’t wait for spring (itchy fingers), but alas, more cold weather forecast here…

Leave a Reply

