SPRING PICTURES


I took some pictures in my garden today, the sun was shining and it looked very much like Spring but it was still very cold cos of the cold wind we had so I did some gardening in my greenhouse where it was lovely and warm.

22032013lente 001

MARSH MARIGOLD ( CALTHA PALUSTRIS) IN THE SWAMP PART OF THE POND, NORMALLY THEY ARE IN BLOOM IN MARCH

22032013lente 003

BUDS OF MY AMELANCHIER

22032013lente 004

THERE ARE MILLIONS OF BUDS ON MY AMELANCHIER TREE, IN A FEW DAYS IT WILL LOOK STUNNING AND ALIVE WITH BEE’S AND BUMBLE BEE’S, THIS ONE IS ALSO ABOUT 4 WEEKS LATER THAN USUAL

22032013lente 006

SKIMMIA  JAPONICA WHITE KEW, IT WAS BUZZING WITH BEE’S BUT THEY WERE SO FAST I COULDN’T GET THEM ON CAMERA AND IT WAS TOO COLD TO BE PATIENT, I LOVE IT WHEN THERE ARE A LOT OF BEE’S IN MY GARDEN, BEE’S ARE IN DECLINE, EVEN IN DANGER OF EXTINCTION OVER HERE SO I TRY TO PLANT SHRUBS, TREE’S AND FLOWERS THEY LIKE TO VISIT AND I WANT TO BUILD A BEE HOTEL IN MY GARDEN SO THEY CAN OVERWINTER THERE AND LAY THEIR EGG’S

22042013lente bis 006

A PRETTY DOUBLE DAFFODIL IN THE SHADE

22042013lente bis 007

IN THE GREENHOUSE, LETTUCE FOR CUTTING AND SPINACH, COS OF THE LONG COLD WINTER I HAD TO POSTPHONE SEEDING SO THERE IS LOTS TO COME BUT MOST IS SO TINY AND JUST COMING OUT OF THE SOIL,  I DID A LOT OF SEEDING LAST WEEK

22032013lente 015

I BOUGHT THESE TOMATO’S LAST WEEK IN THE GARDENCENTER SO THEY HAVE A GOOD HEAD START, THEY ARE DARK RED EGG SHAPED SPANISH TOMATO’S, I ALSO BOUGHT A  RED PAPRIKA PLANT

It is also very very dry, we had some rain last week but it was not nearly  enough !

I hope you are  all enjoying your gardens ! Have a great week !

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “SPRING PICTURES

  1. You are very smart to have a greenhouse. Playing in the greenhouse is like being on Holiday, all the time.

    I love double daffodils, even though they sometimes blast here if the weather turns warm just before they bloom.

    • My greenhouse is now 3 years old and I love it, there is so much you can do with it !
      I too love the brightness of the marsh marigold, bright yellow after a long dull Winter, it feels good !

  2. Like you, I enjoy working in the greenhouse.
    When you wrote “NORMALLY THEY ARE IN BLOOM IN MARCH” I thought but it is March. Well, it seems that way to me too I guess.

Leave a Reply

