WALK WITH ME


Today I took my camera and took a stroll through my garden to see what is going on. We are now in the middle of May and it is still cold, too cold for the time of the year and it has been raining for a few days now, that is good as the garden was bone dry. With the rain everything grew a bit and the garden is a lot greener than a few days back.

13052013tuinfoto's 004

GERANIUM PHAEUM

13052013tuinfoto's 016

ALLIUM URSINUM WITH A FEW SHOOTS OF MELISSA OFFICINALIS. THE ALLIUM LEAFS AND FLOWERS ARE LOVELY IN A GREEN SALAD AND FROM THE LEAFS OF THE MELISSA YOU CAN MAKE A LOVELY LEMON TEA, YOU TAKE A FEW LEAFS, POOR HOT WATER ON THEM AND LET IT BE FOR A FEW MINUTES, AND VOILA YOU HAVE A LOVELY HEALTHY TEA THAT TASTES LIKE LEMON TEA, OR YOU CAN ADD A FEW LEAFS TO YOUR ORDINARY TEA TO GIVE IT A LEMONY TASTE

13052013tuinfoto's 019

THESE DAHLIA’S ARE WAITING FOR A PLACE IN THE GARDEN, THEY WERE IN THE GREENHOUSE FOR A WHILE BUT THEY ARE HARDENING OFF OUTSIDE AND THEY ARE ENJOYING THE RAIN

13052013tuinfoto's 020

LOTS AND LOTS OF BUDS ON MY CLIMBING HYDRANGEA

13052013tuinfoto's 023

THIS CUTIE WAS ENJOYING THE WET WEATHER TOO, I NEVER KILL THEM, I LET THE BIRDS IN THE GARDEN DO THEIR JOB AND THEY DO

13052013tuinfoto's 024

MELISSA OFFICINALIS, GROWS LIKE MAD AND SELFSEEDS LIKE MAD BUT IS EASILY REMOVED, YOU CAN REMOVE THE FLOWERS BEFORE THEY SET SEEDS, THAT HELPS OFCOURSE, YOU CAN DRY THE LEAFS AND USE THEM IN POT-POURRI

13052013tuinfoto's 025

FERNS UNFOLDING

13052013tuinfoto's 026

THIS IS SYRINGA PALIBIN, A SMALLER VERSION OF THE SYRINGA VULGARIS, IT IS ONLY ABOUT 100-150 CM HIGH AND ACROSS, THE FLOWERS ARE SMALLER BUT THEY SMELL THE SAME, HERE YOU SEE THE BUDS

13052013tuinfoto's 028

A VIEW OF THE FRESH NEW SHOOTS OF ONE OF MY HOSTA’S

13052013tuinfoto's 029

ALCHEMILLA MOLLIS OR LADIES MANTLE

13052013tuinfoto's 002

MY FIG TREE AT THE MOMENT

13052013tuinfoto's 003

IT ALREADY HAS MANY SMALL FIGS

tuinmei2012 008

THIS IS HOW MY FIG TREE LOOKED LAST YEAR AT ABOUT THE SAME TIME, THIS WINTER I COVERED IT WITH THIN FLEECE TO PROTECT IT A BIT FROM THE COLD AND I LOVE THE RESULT !!!!!!

13052013tuinfoto's 030

AND THE SHOW STOPPER IS MY NEW AEONIUM, I HOPE THE SUN WILL MAKE IT A LOT DARKER, I DON’T KNOW IF THIS IS A REAL SCHWARTZKOPF BUT I HOPE SO !THERE WAS NO NAME ON IT.

I hope I will soon be able to show you lots of flowers !

Enjoy your garden !

 

15 thoughts on “WALK WITH ME

  1. Hi Gwennie – I wondered if I could ask your advice about fig trees? I have one in my garden (we live in the South of England) and this year we had about 8 figs that ripened and were edible (a record!) At the moment the tree is bare with a few small figs hanging on. I was interested in your comments about adding fleece protection however our tree would be a bit tall to put fleece on. We were considering cutting the tree back so it was shorter (it planted itself so is not in the best part of our v. small garden) – would you or your readers recommend pruning that drastically and if so at what time? If the tree were smaller then at least we might be able to put some protection on it. Thanks KnitNell

    • You can prune your fig tree drastically if you want to, they grow fast in Summer, the best time is between Christmas and New Year, not later as it will start to “bleed” and will loose a lot of it’s juices. The first figs for next year are already visible and those are the one that will ripen in our climat so when you protect it you’ll have more figs next year ! succes !

  2. Hi Gwen! LOVE your Aeonium!! It’s just gorgeous. 😉 I got one with the same coloring as a “bonus plant” when ordering some rare Aloes online. It is just one tiny rosette, but I hope in time it will be a show-stopper like yours! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Love those beautiful ferns! I also love the colour of the Geranium flowers. It looks like the fleece covering was appreciated very much by your Fig Tree.

    • I am really happy I tried the fleece cover. And so you learn each year !This Winter I also put my winterhardy succulents in my unheated greenhouse to protect them from the rain and snow and this was also a big succes.They were as beautiful as they went in ! Last year they looked horrible after Winter, a lot of them were rotten.

    • Last year the small figs that were there before Winter and all the new buds were frozen and the tree stuggled to form new buds and figs but it was too late in the ear when he finally had figs so they didn’t ripe as usual.

  4. Lovely post. Our small garden is still way behind and the weather is still colder than normal, but I guess everything just catches up somehow. Thanks for liking my landscapes btw, best, Nicholas.

  5. I enjoyed your photos.

    We have a fig tree, but the figs don’t get ripe. I am hoping another one will bear, but something chewed on it. I covered it with netting, but that will be a set-back.

    We had 0.1°C this morning. 😦

    • There are many sorts of fig tree’s, I have the” white of marseille”, small green figs and they ripen well.
      The birds love the ripe figs ! at first they didn’t know what it was but now they do and they pick the biggest and ripest first ! Brrr 0,1 C°, cold !! we have highs of 10 C° at the moment, too cold for the time of the year !

  6. Great pictures! I’m very impressed with your fig! I wouldn’t even have thought of growing a fig (but then, I don’t much care for figs).

    • I am trying to create a bit of a mediterranian feel in my garden, I know we don’t have the right weather but fig tree’s are very though and I make jam from the figs.

  7. Wonderful post. I am ENJOYING your garden because I do not have one outside any more. Thank you for this wonderful visit with your babies and for giving us their true names too… Vera

Leave a Reply

