LEMON CUCUMBER


A few months ago I came across a cucumber plant that I had never heard of before, as I like the taste of lemon I thought I should try these plants and see what these cucumbers tasted like. So I bought two small plants and planted them in the greenhouse. Now they are ripe and ready to eat, so I tried the first one yesterday, they tasted like the green ones but they have a lemony colour so they probably got their name from their colour of skin. But it was fun to see them bloom and grow into big yellow ball’s, they were really easy to grow and I definitely want to grow them again next year.

2013127tuin bis 016

HERE THE PLANT IS BLOOMING

20131908tuin 023

THEY HAVE THE SIZE OF A SMALL MELON OR A BIG TENNISBALL

20131908tuin 025

THIS IS HOW THEY LOOK ON THE INSIDE, I THINK  I’LL HAVE TO HARVEST THEM EARLIER SO THE PIPS WILL BE SMALLER BUT THEIR TASTE IS GOOD

How I like to eat cucumbers and other salads:

2 soup spoons of oil (oil for cold use)

– 2 soup spoons of red wine vinegar

– 1 small spoon of mustard or as much as you prefer

– 1 small chopped onion

mix the oil, vinegar and mustard, add the chopped onion with the cucumber then pour the mix onto the vegetables and stir, voilà, ready !

Have a great day all and thanks for stopping by ! Enjoy your garden !

14 thoughts on “LEMON CUCUMBER

  1. These are our FAVORITE cucumbers! We grow them every year! I love them for their mild, sweet, taste, and for the fact that they don’t need to be peeled. They are wonderful just eaten ”out of hand’, but our favorite way is to marinate them in a vinaigrette with thinly sliced onions, tomatoes, and basil.
    Cheers!
    Lorrie

  2. When I have more energy I’ll have to send you my recipe for cucumber dressing with Greek yougurt, – or sour cream – strawberry vinegar, and other stuff, that I learned from a French restaurant in California…

Leave a Reply

