AN EXPERIMENT


I have an old jade plant (crassula portulacea), a succulent, it is one of the easiest plants I know. Sometimes a piece of branch break off and I pot it up , in no time you have a new plant, you can even create a new plant just by planting a single leaf !!!. I’ve given soooo many to family , friends and clients but I kept a few for myself so that I could experiment with them, I am trying to make sort of bonsai shapes, keep them small, cos when you give them space they’ll grow quite large and become too heavy for me to carry. I put them outside in Summer and they love it but in Autumn it gets too cold and too wet so they have to come inside again.

20131908tuin 021

THIS IS MUM, I DON’T KNOW HOW OLD SHE IS,WHEN I BOUGHT THIS PLANT IS WAS VERY SMALL, ONCE IN A WHILE I CUT SOME BRANCHES AWAY IN ORDER TO KEEP HER WEIGHT DOWN (I WISH I COULD DO THE SAME TO MYSELF !!) YOU CAN EVEN CUT ALL THE BRANCHES AWAY AND KEEP THE MAIN STEM, NEW GROWTH WILL SHOW IN A WEEKS TIME.

20133108tuin 016

THESE ARE HER CHILDREN

20133108tuin 018

ANOTHER VIEW

Have a great week all !!! thanks for stopping by !

13 thoughts on “AN EXPERIMENT

  1. I to the same thing with jungle cactuses, kalanchoes and begonias, rooting every little piece that breaks. Have you tried some kind of wheels arrangement for the big heavy pots? I use a furniture dolly.

  2. I once received a very small cutting of a jade plant from one of my childhood friends, in the past fifteen years it has grown and I started replanting her ‘babies’. I have given two baby-jade plants to my closest friends last year and see them grow. The jade plant has become a symbol of friendship for me 🙂

    She Wears: Fashion Illustration Blog

    • I have seen your big jade plant he is awesome ! I wish I could let mine grow and grow but then they become impossible to handle and cos they need to come inside for Winter…..oh how I wish I could live somewhere warm and dry where there is no frost ever !!!

    • jade plants are difficult to kill, you can only kill them with too much water ! they prefer a light or sunny spot but they grow everywhere you know, just don’t give them food, just once a year a little bit is enough or give them new soil and they will thrive ! if a leaf breaks off a new one will grow ! succes !

Leave a Reply

