UPDATE ON MY CACTI AND SUCCULENTS


Cos of the storm today I couldn’t take any pictures of the garden but a while ago I promised you an update on my cacti and succulents, the collection I have indoors that is.

20130914tuinsucc 001

MY RHIPSALIS

20130914tuinsucc 002

THEY HAVE BEEN GROWING NICELY THIS SUMMER

20130914tuinsucc 003

HERE YOU CAN SEE THAT MY PINK PELARGONIUM IS STILL IN BLOOM

20130914tuinsucc 006

20130914tuinsucc 007

20130914tuinsucc 008

20130914tuinsucc 009

20130914tuinsucc 010

20130914tuinsucc 012

I water my collection about once a week with cold water that has been cooked before and they get a little bit of fertiliser just once in Spring or fresh soil, if they get fresh soil they don’t get fertilizer for a year. Each time I water them I inspect them to see if there are no bugs or illnesses and then after watering I give them a new place on another shelve so that they can sit in the sun once in a while and I turn them regularly so they won’t grow crooked. Some of these plants will soon go upstairs for a cooler overwintering ,unheated but frost-free, something they need  to produce flowers in Spring or Summer, others need a place arround 20 C° to stay happy.

Have a great week all and enjoy your garden ! Thanks for stopping by, it is much appreciated !

26 thoughts on “UPDATE ON MY CACTI AND SUCCULENTS

  1. Those cactus are lucky to be in your loving care. I was interested to read that you cook then cool the water before giving it to them. Is there a reason for that? That first photo looks as though it has a dummy sprouting out of it… 🙂

    • there is too much chlorine and lime in the water over here so when boiling the water those elements are removed and I love to dress my pots with little bits and bobs, the red thing you see with the rhipsalis is something to put on an open bottle of wine, I also use pebbles, coloured glass, shell’s etc…

Leave a Reply

