FINALLY


I finally found some time to start on my Christmas decorations. I decided not to have a tree this year, my husband insists on a real tree but I always feel so sad when it has to go again, it has to grow for several years before it is big enough to serve as a Christmas tree and then after a few weeks in the house it has to go and as we can’t plant it in our garden to give it a second life….so I try to give my house a festive feel with other Christmas decorations. It is a job that takes several days but today I made a start. Life has been terrible hectic for me lately, I always think that the days of December go faster than the days of the other months, I don’t know why !

20131512kerst 001

ITS CLASSIC RED AND SILVER, I LOVE THE WARMTH OF THE RED AGAINST THE COOL OF THE SILVER, BUT I TRY A DIFFERENT SET UP EVERY YEAR

20131512kerst 002

20131512kerst 003

20131512kerst 004

There is more to come in the next days, I even found some bloomers in the garden !!!

Have a great festive season !!! And thanks for stopping by, I really appreciate it !

 

14 thoughts on “FINALLY

  1. I live in an area where Christmas trees are grown commercially. They grow on marginal ground that is usually not good for other agriculture. And after the holidays, the trees can be mulched, or fed to goats (they love them) or otherwise recycled.
    When my kids were young, I would tell them the holiday custom is to sacrifice an evergreen tree then dress it up as pretty as possible, until after the new year.

    • I know they are grown commercially but they have to grow for many years to become about 1 m tall and they look so pretty and healthy and then after a few weeks of glory in the livingroom someone collects them and they burn them whilst partying…..I just feel sorry for the tree. If could I’d replant them but even though they come with a rootball they can not be replanted as the tree’s they sell here have a very long root (like a carrot) and they have to shorten that root so it can not grow again. The tree’s are called Nordman and they are popular cos they don’t loose their needles for a long time inlike the others.

  2. I love the red and silver color combo. Very warm and classic. I also love the use of the ornaments in the vases – that’s something I’ll keep in mind when our collection gets too much for our tree.

Leave a Reply

