SHALL I GET APPLES THIS YEAR


IN WINTER OF 2013 WE RECEIVED A MINI APPLE TREE AS A GIFT AND WHEN IT WAS NOT FREEZING I PLANTED IT NEXT TO MY DRIVEWAY.  IT IS CALLED MINI TREE MALUS DOMESTICA GOLDLANE . IT WILL GROW TO 2 METERS HIGH AND 50 CM BROAD AND IT CAN GROW ON A BALCONY IN A POT, NO PRUNING NEEDED AND IT  POLINATES ITSELF . THE FIRST SPRING WE GOT A FEW FLOWERS SO I WAS HOPING FOR ONE OR TWO APPLES BUT WHEN YOU HAVE VERY YOUNG GRANDCHILDREN YOU KNOW WHAT HAPPENS….RIGHT ! LAST YEAR I DIDN’T GET APPLE BLOSSOMS SO NO FRUIT OF COURSE. BUT THIS YEAR I HAVE A LOT OF BLOSSOMS SO I AM HOPEFUL I WILL GET A FEW APPLES. I PROMISED MY GRANDCHILDREN THEY WOULD GET THE APPLES WHEN THEY ARE READY TO EAT AND THEY ARE VERY EXCITED ABOUT IT. THEY ARE TAKING AN INTEREST NOW IN GARDENING AND IN MY GREENHOUSE WHERE I PLANTED ALL SORTS OF VEGETABLES AND THEY LOVE TO HELP ME WITH THE WATERING :D.

I WAS EVEN ABLE TO TAKE SOME SHOTS FOR YOU WITH ONE ARM AND ONE FINGER OF MY RIGHT HAND !

DSCF3756

this was taken over a week ago when it was still in buds

DSCF3757

and now you can see it flowering

SO FOR NOW I AM PLEASED !!

HAVE GREAT WEEKEND AND THANKS FOR STOPPING BY !

4 thoughts on “SHALL I GET APPLES THIS YEAR

  1. We bought two apple trees that are espalier together for a client. One is a ‘Anna,’ which requires 100 to 300 chilling hours, and ‘Dorsett Golden,’ which needs only 100 to 200, perfect for Houston. Unfortunately the pool company nixed the bed where it/they were going, to enlarge the concrete area : ( So we now have apple trees and each one has a little apple. I am so excited! Now were do I plant them, sigh! Happy spring!

Leave a Reply

