BURNED !!!


Last week was HOT, really HOT, we had temperatures between 35 C° and 40 C° !! These are temperatures we seldom get so we are not used to this, neither are my plants, poor plants, we can stay inside and cool off in many ways but plants can’t, I gave them enough water but I didn’t think the sun would have such a devastating effect on the leafs, so now I know and in the future I’ll cover my plants like I do when it is too cold as extreme freezing has the same result as extreme hot sun.

DSC00793

THIS IS A RHODODENDRON, AN EVERGREEN SHRUB, SO THESE LEAFS WILL BE UGLY NEXT YEAR IN SPRING WHEN IT HAS BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS. WHAT A SHAME !! IN THE BACK YOU SEE THE BURNED LEAFS OF GERANIUM MACRORHIZUM

DSC00795

NEXT TO OUR DRIVEWAY WE HAVE A BORDER FULL OF GERANIUM MACRORHIZUM AS IT IS SUCH AN EASY PLANT THAT SUFFOCATES ALL WEEDS, BUT I AM QUITE SURE THAT ONCE THE WEATHER WILL BE COOL AND WET AGAIN IT WILL GROW NEW FRESH LEAVES

DSC00794

JAPANESE ANEMONE, AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PICTURE YOU CAN SEE NEW LEAFS, THE BIG LEAFS DIED TO PROTECT THE SMALL ONES SO I WILL GET FLOWERS IN AUTUMN I THINK

DSC00798

EVEN THE FERNS NEAR THE POND WERE BURNED BUT THEY GROW SO WELL THAT WHENEVER I CUT THE LEAFS DOWN THEY SOON MAKE NEW ONES, THIS ONE GROWS LIKE A WEED REALLY SO NO WORRIES THERE

DSC00754

AND THIS IS HOW ONE OF OUR DOGS KEEPS COOL…….

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND ALL AND KEEP IT COOL ! THANKS FOR VISITING !

15 thoughts on “BURNED !!!

  1. So sorry about your plants! The heat can really make things miserable for man, beast and plant alike. Those are normal temperatures for our area of Texas in the summer, so we’re used to the heat and the damage it can do! I don’t wish those temperatures on anyone.

    • luckily these temperatures are very rare over here and we have been having rain and cooler weather the past few days but I hav e been thinking of all people who get temperatures like these and higher…..

  2. You may have to put umbrella stands in the garden — though with the weather, next summer might be a completely different story. Hopefully your plants will rebound for the rest of the season.

    • when it freezes severely in Winter I use a thin light cloth that is made to cover fruit and veg and plants and it helps so I presume it will help with the sunburn as well, I guess every plant will recover except for the evergreens ofcourse, they will recover too but will need a lot more time !Oh well, we just have to take the weather we get, won’t we ! 😀

  3. Our whole yard looks like your ferns. I live in Northern California and we are in a drought. The only thing we are allowed to water is our trees. We get temperatures up in the 100’s for days at a time here in July. It makes me sad, because the last couple of summers we had a green lawn! I hope it cools off for you soon!

  4. That’s a lot of damage. So sorry for your plants. Your dog is adorable:) It’s kind of unfair to show us a picture like that when we can’t rub her tummy:) LOL So cute:)

Leave a Reply

